
THE SIGNAL
The ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development has approved a US$230 million facility for Azumah Resources Ghana Limited's Black Volta gold project. The facility, approved at EBID's 101st Board meeting in Lomé on 28 September, accounts for almost 59% of the bank's US$390 million package and exceeds the project's published development-cost estimate of roughly US$198 million.
The amount is significant. So is the borrower history.
Azumah Resources Ghana and the associated Sankofa concessions moved under Engineers & Planners, a major Ghanaian mining contractor, through a contested 2025 acquisition. E&P says it paid US$100 million and completed the transfer. Former investors challenged the transaction through ICC arbitration. An October 2025 interim award subsequently reached the English High Court for enforcement, and a final award was expected in September 2026 but has not been identified publicly in the sources reviewed for this edition.
E&P founder Ibrahim Mahama is the brother of President John Dramani Mahama. EBID President George Donkor has rejected claims that the bank's involvement was politically motivated. Those facts do not establish impropriety. They do make ownership, legal status, legacy liabilities and financing conditions standard lender-diligence questions alongside mine economics.
Elsewhere, Namibia has given final governmental consent for Eco Atlantic to transfer 60% of three Walvis Basin exploration licences to BP. BP will become operator and carry Eco's retained 25% through the current exploration phase. Government consent is cleared. Closing and geology remain.
At Molulu in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Critical Metals plc has mobilised for mapping, trenching and sampling before deciding whether its historically producing copper-cobalt project supports scout mining.
Nigeria sits earlier. Trade Minister Jumoke Oduwole has now described the recently signed US critical-minerals framework as a non-binding MoU and clarified that a separate US$50 billion figure represents investment announcements generated by more than 80 MoUs, not realised investment.
These projects sit at different stages. The common test is conversion: from approval to signed capital, consent to completed transaction, mobilisation to validated geology, and government MoU to an identifiable investable project.
NEWS»
EBID approves US$230 million for Black Volta as ownership dispute remains unresolved
The ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development has approved a US$230 million facility for Azumah Resources Ghana Limited to develop the Black Volta Gold Project in north-west Ghana.
Black Volta covers approximately 934 km² of mining and exploration licences. Its published project profile gives it 1.37 million ounces of Mineral Reserves, 2.8 million ounces of Mineral Resources and a development-cost estimate of about US$198 million.
EBID had already approved US$47.4 million in July for long-lead equipment and early development work. FLS also has an approximately DKK235 million order for major process equipment, booked in 2025 with delivery scheduled during 2026.
The ownership history underneath the borrower is more complicated.
Engineers & Planners, or E&P, is a major Ghanaian mining contractor founded by Ibrahim Mahama, the brother of President John Dramani Mahama. E&P says it acquired all shares in Azumah Resources Ghana and Upwest Resources, which holds the Sankofa concessions, in 2025 and ultimately transferred US$100 million to the former shareholders.
Former investors disputed E&P's rights to complete the acquisition and took the matter to ICC arbitration.
Reporting based on English High Court documents says an October 2025 ICC interim award directed E&P to stop interfering with the Black Volta and Sankofa mine sites. On 8 June 2026, the High Court granted permission for that interim award to be enforced as an English court judgment and recorded that E&P had failed to comply with the interim award.
E&P and the E&P-controlled Azumah subsequently disputed that interpretation, saying there was no order requiring the assets to be handed back and that E&P was seeking to set the enforcement order aside.
A final ICC award was expected in September. No publicly available final award was identified in the sources reviewed for this edition.
Why it matters
EBID approved the latest US$230 million facility on 28 September, during the same month in which the final arbitral determination was expected.
The approval announcement does not disclose whether resolution of the ownership arbitration is a condition precedent to facility signing, financial close or drawdown. For a lender, that is now one of the first questions around the financing.
The capital history also requires reconciliation.
EBID's own 2025 disclosure says its board approved US$120 million for E&P's acquisition of Black Volta. Contemporary reporting described a US$100 million facility, while E&P says US$100 million was ultimately paid to the former shareholders.
E&P then said in September 2025 that it had already secured the funding required for immediate mine development. It also said it would work with the Ghana Revenue Authority to audit loans previously recorded as project investments and repay verified liabilities.
Today's US$230 million approval therefore sits beside two unresolved questions: what the earlier "secured" development funding consisted of, and how legacy shareholder or project loans are treated within the current capital structure.
The current project numbers cannot simply be added together either. US$230 million plus the July US$47.4 million approval equals US$277.4 million, well above the published US$198 million development cost.
EBID has not disclosed whether those facilities overlap, whether the project-cost estimate has changed, or whether the larger facility includes contingencies, financing costs or other uses.
Extractives Daily view
The ownership history makes Black Volta a clearer test of what development-bank diligence covers.
The project has a defined reserve, licences, major process equipment on order and a financing approval large enough to cover its published development-cost estimate. At the same time, the legal position around the acquisition remains subject to an arbitral process whose final publicly available outcome has not been established.
The financing sequence therefore needs to remain precise: board approval, signed facility, financial close and drawdown.
Black Volta has cleared the first. The next disclosures should show whether resolution of the ownership dispute is a condition precedent, how legacy liabilities rank within the capital structure and how the US$230 million facility relates to the July US$47.4 million approval.
There is also a wider Ghanaian policy connection.
Extractives Daily reported in September that Ghana requires surface contract mining to move to Ghanaian-owned contractors by the end of 2026. E&P built its position principally as an indigenous contractor. At Black Volta it is attempting the next step: converting domestic operating capability into mine ownership backed by regional development-bank capital.
The constructive test for localisation is not simply whether Ghanaian companies win mining contracts. It is whether they can own, finance and build the underlying mines under governance and financing standards strong enough to attract institutional capital.
Sources: EBID — US$230 million Black Volta approval | Azumah Resources — Black Volta project profile | EBID — US$120 million 2025 acquisition facility for E&P | Ghana News Agency — E&P acquisition, development funding and legacy-loan review | MyJoyOnline — ICC interim award and English High Court enforcement proceedings | FLS — Black Volta process-equipment order | Reuters — Ghana contractor-localisation requirements
Namibia clears Eco Atlantic's 60% farm-down to BP
Namibia has given final governmental consent for Eco Atlantic to transfer a 60% interest in PEL97, PEL99 and PEL100 to BP Namibia Energy.
Eco Atlantic is an AIM and TSX Venture-listed offshore explorer. The three licences cover 22,893 km² in Namibia's Walvis Basin. BP will take operatorship, Eco will retain 25%, NAMCOR 10% and local partners 5%.
Eco receives US$2.7 million at completion. BP will carry Eco's retained interest and its share of partner carry obligations through the current exploration phase.
The programme includes seismic reprocessing on PEL97 and at least 3,000 km² of new 3D seismic across PEL99 and PEL100.
Why it matters
The ministerial decision removes the final governmental transfer condition. Eco says closing deliverables remain.
The commercial exchange is more significant than the cash payment. Eco gives up control and majority ownership while retaining a material carried interest.
If the licences move into the second renewal period in 2028 and drilling is approved, Eco can transfer another 10 percentage points and retain 15% with a drilling carry capped at US$21 million net per well on each licence.
Extractives Daily view
These licences are in the Walvis Basin, not the Orange Basin where discoveries such as Venus and Mopane have attracted most recent attention.
BP is taking control of an exploration position whose own commercial geology still has to be demonstrated.
The next tests are transaction completion, seismic execution and whether the resulting prospects justify drilling.
Critical Metals plc starts Molulu fieldwork before deciding on scout mining
Critical Metals plc has started its 2026 field programme at the Molulu copper-cobalt project in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
The London-listed company, LSE: CRTM, holds 70% of the historically producing Katangan Copperbelt project. It is separate from Critical Metals Corp, Nasdaq: CRML, the company involved in Kenya's Mrima Hill rare-earth and niobium development.
Personnel and equipment have been mobilised for surveying, mapping, trenching and sampling. The results will determine whether the initial target supports scout mining.
Why it matters
Molulu has moved into physical field activity, not commercial production.
There is no new reserve, mine plan or restart decision. The programme is evidence gathering designed to determine whether the next physical step is justified.
Extractives Daily view
Brownfield history can shorten development, but historical production is not proof of present economics.
The next material event is the validated field dataset and the scout-mining decision that follows it.
Nigeria's US minerals pact joins a much larger MoU conversion problem
Nigeria's Trade and Investment Minister Jumoke Oduwole has clarified that the recently signed Nigeria-US critical-minerals framework is a non-binding memorandum of understanding.
Extractives Daily covered the signing last week and separated Nigeria's US$700 billion mineral-endowment estimatefrom any US capital commitment.
The new information is more useful.
Oduwole says Nigeria possesses about 26 of the 60 minerals on the US critical-minerals list. The US Department of the Interior's final 2025 list contains 60 minerals considered important to the US economy and national security.
She also clarified that a separate US$50 billion figure represents investment announcements arising from more than 80 MoUs signed across multiple countries as of January 2025.
Asked what percentage of that US$50 billion had actually been invested, she did not provide an aggregate conversion rate.
Why it matters
The minerals framework now joins a much larger pipeline of government agreements whose economic value depends on conversion.
No mine, processing plant, investor, financing instrument, capital commitment or offtake arrangement has yet been disclosed under the US framework.
The government's stated aim is to use the relationship to support domestic processing and manufacturing rather than simply export raw minerals.
Extractives Daily view
Nigeria's 26-of-60 claim gives the country strategic relevance. It does not create 26 financeable mineral projects.
The US$50 billion comparison gives the framework a useful benchmark: more than 80 MoUs can generate a large announcement figure while the realised conversion rate remains undisclosed.
The bilateral framework becomes commercially measurable when it produces the first named asset, investor, financing structure, processing plan and buyer.
WHAT TO WATCH NEXT
Black Volta: signed financing documents, treatment of the unresolved ownership arbitration as a condition precedent, legacy-loan treatment and reconciliation of the US$230 million and US$47.4 million facilities.
Eco/BP: completion of the farm-down and timing of the Walvis Basin seismic programme.
Molulu: validated field results and the decision on scout mining.
Nigeria-US minerals: the first named project, investor, financing commitment, processing arrangement or offtake.
LISTED EXPOSURE
This section identifies listed companies with exposure to the commodities and jurisdictions covered above, so that readers can compare how the same country or sector development may affect different operators. It covers named participants in today's stories first, then other listed companies active in the same jurisdiction on the same commodity.
Exposure varies enormously in both size and directness, and several of the most important operators in these jurisdictions are private or state-owned and therefore absent. Inclusion is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security.
Ghana | Gold
FLSmidth | Nasdaq Copenhagen: FLS
Contractor exposure: Supplier of Black Volta's major process technologies. Watch equipment delivery and transition into funded construction.
Shandong Gold Mining | SSE: 600547 / HKEX: 1787
Operating comparator: Controls the Namdini mine in northern Ghana, where environmental regulatory issues provide a separate operating and governance comparator for Black Volta.
OR Royalties | TSX: OR / NYSE: OR
Royalty exposure: Holds a 2% NSR royalty over Namdini.
Namibia | Offshore oil
Eco (Atlantic) Oil & Gas | AIM: ECO / TSXV: EOG
Direct exploration exposure: Retains 25% of the Walvis Basin licences after closing. Watch completion, seismic execution and the 2028 drilling decision.
BP p.l.c. | LSE: BP. / NYSE: BP
Operator exposure: Acquiring 60% and operatorship. Watch whether seismic work produces drillable prospects.
DRC | Copper and cobalt
Critical Metals plc | LSE: CRTM
Direct development exposure: Holds 70% of Molulu. Watch validated field results and the scout-mining decision.
Nigeria | Mining
Thor Explorations | AIM: THX / TSXV: THX
Jurisdictional operating comparator: Operates the Segilola gold mine but is not a named party to the US minerals framework. Watch for project-specific transactions rather than assuming participation in the bilateral arrangement.
